Above Standard Issue

Pharrell Williams: The Renaissance Man For GQ

For as long as I can remember Pharrell Williams has been one of my favorite people in the media. I don’t feel like he’s a celebrity because celebrities are known for one thing or sometimes nothing at all; Pharrell is more of an icon. He is truly something of a renaissance man because he’s phenomenal in several creative mediums.

This past week Pharrell sat down with GQ Magazine for a Q&A, here are some of my favorite questions/answers:

GQ: You and Hans Zimmer are the music consultants for the Oscars. What does that job entail? 
Pharrell: We have to reinterpret some of the music for the nominees. We have to do other music as well that is at times new and original and at others borrowing from movie scenes.

GQ: You worked with Hans on 2010’s Despicable Me. He’s a huge deal in the film and music world. What’s it like to hang and work with him again?
Pharrell: It’s an honor for me because I get to be mentored, creative, and credited for learning under the auspices of somebody like him. I’m always honored when he takes my direction and to have direction come from him. It’s really been this interesting collaborative thing. But for me, secretly, it’s still like school and I love it.

GQ: On Rick Ross’ Rich Forever mixtape you rap, “Black boy scoring his life/ I’m scoring the Oscars.” How excited are you for this opportunity—especially since you’re still essentially a music nerd from Virginia who made it big. 
Pharrell: I’m just very thankful. And I say that a lot because that’s the most important message. I answer questions the best I can. But most of the answers usually feel the same. And that’s just me being very appreciative of the opportunity, because, like you said, I’m from Virginia Beach, VA. I’m glad that I can exhibit what we can do.

GQ: Tell me about your upcoming travel book, Places & Spaces I’ve Been
Pharrell: It’s just things and people that have moved me and inspired me around the world and that I am also honored to know.

GQ: You’re working on a new line of boots, right? 
Pharrell: Yeah. We’re working on some boots for BBC [Billionaire Boys Club]. But I can’t really talk about it.

GQ: Well, speaking of BBC, you’re releasing a women’s line soon, BGC, right? 
Pharrell: Yup! And it’s crazy!

GQ: Will there be much of a difference between the men’s and women’s line aside from sizing and maybe color schemes? 
Pharrell: Again, I can’t give it away. Somebody else will do it. [Laughs] But it’s definitely us. It’s signature us. It’s awesome.

GQ: Is it still on target to come out this year?
Pharrell: It may be in the middle of ’13. But you’ll be seeing hints of it in the marketplace in 2012.

GQ: You’ve started a lot of fashion trends over the years. Are you aware of the latest that folks are adopting slowly but surely? Style guys are feeling your plaid-shirt-around-the-waist-for-no-reason look. 
Pharrell: [Laughs] Uh, I guess I’m just having a ’90s grunge moment. And, like, is that the case? Is that what you’re seeing?

GQ: Yeah, I’ve actually had a conversation about it with some fashion editors, wondering if you ever actually wear the plaid shirt or if it’s just decoration. 
Pharrell: Wow. That’s funny, man. I started going, like, grunge after the last N.E.R.D. album, Nothing[Asks assistant] Right? Wasn’t it right around then? And I did it a little around Seeing Sounds, too!

For the whole interview go here: http://www.gq.com/entertainment/music/201202/pharrell-williams-oscars-music-collaboration-hans-zimmer 

This entry was written by uyellelle and published on February 5, 2012 at 9:03 pm. It’s filed under Fashion, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

