Above Standard Issue

OOTD: Blended Art Show

This past weekend I went to BLENDED Art Show in Washington D.C. It was essentially a graffiti show in an abandoned warehouse.  It featured 60 artists throughout the building. It was an amazing experience I’m so glad I decided to go. The whole event ran from 6 p.m. to 12 a.m. and featured a couple DJs. I arrived at about 8 p.m. and stayed for two hours.

Blended brings the worlds of street art and graphic design together in a collision of music, art, and paint fumes at a soon-to-be-demolished warehouse in Shaw. DJ’s will move the dance floor while local and national street and graffiti artists paint their ephemeral work on the building’s industrial surfaces. Dance, drink, and mingle in the Montana Gold at this benefit for Albus Cavus’s community and youth workshop efforts.

For me these are the types of events that remind me of why I love being so close to the city. Blended was a melting pot of people, you had everyone from small children to older people easily in their 60s. You had those in button down shirts and you had those in tank tops showing off their tattoo sleeves. Overall it was just amazing.

After minutes of indecision in my closet earlier that night, I landed on:

My high-low cotton and chiffon shirt from Pac Sun. I bought this shirt for $10 and its perfect for the summer.

Red pants from H&M that I bought in NYC cost $12 if I remember correctly.

My leather vest was a Christmas present from my mother a couple years ago. It’s by Truth & Pride and cost $300.

To finish off my outfit I’m wearing black sandals that I got from Target for $15 and a gold earring necklace that I created myself for less than $10.

Click here for video from BLENDED Art Show

This entry was written by uyellelle and published on June 11, 2012 at 11:04 pm. It’s filed under Fashion, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

