Above Standard Issue

Cooler Than, A Pac Div Cover

As some people may or may not know, aside from fashion and photography, music is somewhat of a big deal to me. Not only am I an avid listener but I’m also a creator. For as long as I can remember I’ve had an affinity for music and songwriting. Currently I rap, if I could sing I’d probably experiment with other genres but nevertheless I love hip-hop.

I say all of this to introduce the first single, “Cooler Than” from my group Never Descent’s upcoming mixtape, “The Absolut Come Up”. This mixtape is the brain child of my friend Sharnell and I. Since I started rapping about two years ago, I’ve had several people ask me if I’m working on a mix tape. Now in the summer of 2012, I can finally say one is on the way.

While it’s not my natural persona as a rapper to make outgoing, upbeat songs I’m enjoying this experiment. For one music you can blast in your car and play at a party is fun to make. But it’s also challenging to me because I feel in a lot of ways I’ve lost the lyrical poetic approach that brought me to rap in the first place. On this tape I’m trying to reach a balance between lyricism and listenability…And while “Cooler Than” is more of a fun track our mix tape shows lyrical depth too. Anyway take a listen to our first single and get prepared for the mix tape dropping on July 2!

This entry was written by uyellelle and published on June 8, 2012 at 12:32 am. It’s filed under Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

