Above Standard Issue

Interview: Amanda Mocci

Amanda Mocci, a Canadian who I stumbled across on tumblr, is a very talented graphic designer and illustrator.  After being introduced to her work, I checked out her website and was even more intrigued, learning that she’s turned some of her designs into prints and products to sell. Above Standard Issue’s interview with Amanda is below:

ASI: When did you start drawing? Do you do any other type of art?

Amanda: I’ve been drawing ever since I can remember holding a pencil. Now my ‘serious’
drawing style, portraits and such, started about 5 years ago.

Where does the inspiration for your art come from?
Most of it comes from music, especially in the beginning when I first started
drawing portraits. My pieces were usually musicians that inspired me like
Radiohead, Interpol, Paul McCartney, Emily Haines, an so on. People also
play a big role in how I get inspired. If I am looking at photos and someone’s
look captivated me, it seems like the ides of my next piece will just flow into
my head.

If you had to describe who you are and what you do to someone, what would you say?
I would say that I am an illustrator with some traditional methods. I am also a
graphic designer which transcends into my drawings. I really love both equally and would never be able to choose one over the other.

What is the favorite piece of work that you’ve done?
As a complex piece, I would have to say my latest, ‘Revival‘. I really love using
black in my pieces and keeping things simple. So as a second piece, I would have
to say ‘Paul‘.

How did the idea for turning your art into designs come about?
I wanted my work to evolve and live on other supports besides paper. So I decided
to learn how to sew and am now making a variety of cases such as laptop cases,
pencil cases, iPhone cases, etc. I’ve been having a blast with it and will definitely
keep making more.

What are your plans for the future?
I will be exposing my work at the FIMA festival in Montreal over the summer. There
I will be selling originals, prints, and fabric cases from my tent. I would love to
have a solo exhibition in the near future as well.

Below are some examples of Amanda’s artwork, as well as how she has turned some of those pieces into prints:

This entry was written by goldenwildfire and published on May 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm. It’s filed under Fashion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

