Above Standard Issue

Interview: CHSN Clothing

Chosen Clothing was a brand I came across on twitter. My curiosity grew around how this company started and the inspiration behind it. Read the interview below and visit the CHSN website to shop!
ASI: Who are the founders of CHSN Clothing?
CHSN Clothing: “There is only one owner of CHSN Clothing, which was founded in the Summer of 2011.”

How would you describe CHSN Clothing to someone who’s never heard of it before?
“A heavily artwork-influenced brand that blends street imagery with pop culture.”

What was the motivation behind starting the company?
“I’ve always been influenced by different forms of street art, and being an artist myself I realize that there are brands out there that make an easy $30-60 per shirt with just a logo on it while real artwork that you see everyday is passed by and ignored by most people. In my opinion, these are the people who should be millionaires for creating a visual interpretation of what’s going on in the world.
It’s always been a dream of mine to own a clothing company, and once I finally gained the funds to start one, I didn’t want to make anything that just had my logo on it. I wanted each of my shirts to be something people would enjoy wearing and be sensible to pay for instead of something they bought because the brand name was a ‘must-have’ in your closet.”

Where does the inspiration come from for the designs?
“I draw my inspiration from a variety of places and mash them all together. My main inspiration is the street art that you can find in any major city, whether on a wall or a sticker on a trash can. I also get inspiration from old cartoons, music, or just how I feel at the moment.”

Why t-shirts?
“A t-shirt is just another extension of a person’s self expression, like jewelry, a hairstyle, or a tattoo. I always use my clothes to express how I feel on a certain day and the type of person I am as a whole, so I wanted to be apart of an industry that puts one more thing in your expressive arsenal.”

Where do you see (or hope to see) the business going within the next 5-10 years?
“In the next five to ten years, I’d like to be receiving orders from across the world, while keeping the brand exclusive. I hope that celebrities will also be aware of my brand and that it will be a household name among those who know a good shirt company when they see one.”

Do you have any upcoming projects or anything we should keep our eyes out for?
“Right now I am working on my Summer 2012 series and have already released my Spring Series. So be on the lookout for what’s to come for the summer!”
This entry was written by goldenwildfire and published on April 23, 2012 at 10:58 am. It’s filed under Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

