Above Standard Issue

Liz Claiborne: California Sheek, New York Cool

With my recent Liz Claiborne obsession I decided to go on their website and see what the brand looks like today (seeing as I’m more familiar with their 90s aesthetic). Anywho I was surprised to see that when the calendar hits May Liz Claiborne will have officially changed their name.

The company’s new name is Fifth and Pacific. The fifth stands for Fifth Avenue in New York, which promotes the bustle of city life and the fashion capital of New York. The Pacific stands for Malibu, California (and the other cities on the asian side of the Pacific) which, promotes the relaxed lifestyle part of the brand.

It’s weird to think a brand that’s been around since 1976 is about to do away with their founding name. However, I also like the new name because it’s hip and defines the brand well.

I think it is also interesting to note that Liz Claiborne owns Kate Spade, Jack Spade, Lucky Brand, and Juicy Couture. Overall I think the brand still has a bright future ahead of it and I’m excited to see where it’s headed when Fifth and Pacific becomes official.

Lastly, I must note Elizabeth Claiborne’s legacy lives on in thrift stores. Lately I’ve seen and bought so much Liz Sport from the early 90s. I love the work they were creating back then! I also love the fact that the Liz Claiborne brand was built on the idea of affordable clothing. So toast to the new but never out with the old!

 

This entry was written by uyellelle and published on January 15, 2012 at 2:10 am. It’s filed under Fashion, Rant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

