Above Standard Issue

Thrill of the Thrift

This past week I went to my favorite thrift store down in Forest Heights and another one I frequent off of Richmond Highway. Between the two thrift stores I bought two shirts, a sweater, a vest, a pair boots, and a pair of loafers.

Forest Heights

The green shirt ($3) is a simple, oversized, and really comfortable. It’s a true vintage piece with shoulder pads, which, I’m debating whether to cut out. The denim shirt ($4) has an Asian look with the buttons and high slits on both sides. The sweater ($4) is pretty comfy and I love the stripes and triangles. The vest ($10) is just dope and I love the red accents plus it has a hood pocket zipped in the back. The loafers ($10) make a statement on their own with the warm colors and snakeskin. For the past year or so I’ve been looking for some nice loafers and I think these would make an awesome statement with some simple skinny pants.

Richmond Highway

The same day I went to the Forest Heights thrift store I also stopped by the Richmond Highway one, saw some boots, but didn’t buy them. The day after having regretted not buying the boots, I went back to the store. However the boots were gone. After looking around for a little some boots with yellow stitching poked out of the masses. After recognizing the stitching as Doc Martens, I pulled the boots out and try them on. The boots were a little too big but for $15 a steal nonetheless. With a new insole inside they fit perfect. Plus I just happened to have been on the hunt for some all black boots.

This entry was written by uyellelle and published on January 1, 2012 at 11:55 pm. It’s filed under Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

